Of things to come…

This is just a quick update to let you all know where I’ve been lately. In mid-February, I spent a lovely weekend with a friend who lives in the snowy depths of Akita prefecture, a place I liken to the Wyoming of Japan. This week, I’ll be exploring and eating my way through Okinawa, which might as well be its own country. Suffice it to say it’s been fascinating to experience the distinct cultures and landscapes of these two regions within such a short period of time.

For now, I’ll leave you with two architectural photos of Akita and Okinawa, respectively. The first is part of an old sake brewery complex in Kazuno, and the second is of a crumbling house I encountered last night on a walk in Naha. (As always, you can check out more photos on my Flickr page.)

Please stay tuned for updates on both trips next week!

2 thoughts on “Of things to come…

  1. Hi Emma!
    I hope Okinawa is proving to be interesting. I’ll be interested to see all the pics. I love all your Winter in Japan photos–somehow so much more elegant than looking at slushy streets in the US!

    That old green building is haunting in a very wonderful way…

    Love,
    Aunt Alice

Leave a Reply

